Thursday, October 31, 2013

2013 Shelf Dorf awards handed out at FanFare

DEARBORN — Anyone that has attended a comic convention owes a debt of gratitude to the late Shel Dorf.
He helped to found and run one of the earliest conventions in the country, the Detroit Triple Fan Fare, and later moved to San Diego where he founded what has become the largest pop culture convention in the world, San Diego Comic Con International.
Shortly after his passing in November 2009, the Detroit FanFare was founded, and with it came an awards ceremony that honors the best in comics each year. Each year the Shel Dorf Awards are handed out in honor of the man, and what he represented to the world — greatness in comics.
Three special awards were presented, The Shel Dorf Torch Bearer's Award went to Jeff Smith for, “preserving the flame of the spirit of comics and carrying the torch forward in the comic industry."
The Jerry Bails Comic Book Fandom award went to Craig Yoe for “excellence in the pursuit of the essence of comic fandom.” Finally the Shel Dorf: Legacy of Comics award went to Steve Geppi for “shaping the industry through a lifetime of innovation and work.”
Below are the 2013 award winners and the other nominees in each category. The winners are marked with an asterisk.

Writer of the Year:
Brian K. Vaughn *
Robert Kirkman
Dan Slott
Scott Snyder
Mark Waid
Robert Kirkman

Penciler of the Year:
Fiona Staples *
David Aja
Greg Capullo
Jim Lee
Ryan Stegman

Inker of the Year:
Bill Sienkiewicz *
Jonathan Glapion
Mark Morales
Scott Williams

Colorist of the Year:
Fiona Staples *
Laura Allred
Brandon Graham
Nei Ruffino
Dave Stewart

Editor of the Year:
Steve Wacker *
Scott Allie
Raven Gregory
Chad Lambert
Craig Yoe

Cover Artist of the Year:
Alex Ross *
David Aja
Francesco Francavilla
J.H. Williams III
Scottie Young

Letterer of the Year:
Chris Eliopoulos *
Joe Caramagna
Todd Klein
Jaymes Reed
Chris Ware

Mini Series of the Year:
Five Ghosts *
47 Ronin
Age of Ultron
Star Trek The Next Generation: Hive

Original Graphic Novel of the Year:
District Comics: An Unconventional History of Washington DC *
Arsenic Lullaby - The Big Stall
Building Stories
Parker: The Score
God Hates Astronauts

Web Comic of the Year:
Battlepug *
Adventures of Dr McNinja
Girl Genius
Penny Arcade
Questionable Content

Syndicated Print Strip of the Year:
Beardo *
Funky Winkerbean
Pearls Before Swine

Comic To Multi-Media Adaption of the Year:
The Walking Dead *
Injustice: Gods Among Us
Iron Man 3
Man of Steel

Comic Blogger of the Year:
Decapitated Dan *
Heidi MacDonald
Rich Johnston
Robot 6
Tom Spurgeon

Continuing Series of the Year:
The Walking Dead *
Superior Spider-Man

Self Published Comic of the Year:
Touching Evil *
Aw Yeah Comics
Rachel Rising
Rainbow In The Dark

Kids' Comic of the Year:
Adventure Time *
Bodie Troll
My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic
Sonic The Hedgehog

1 comment:

  1. ImagesRetouch provides professional photo retouching services and images editing services. if you need affordable solution for your photo editing you are Just one step away.
    HDR blending images editing services